Providing ministry education opportunities since 1962

The Kirbas Institute

Rev. Dr. Paul KirbasPaul Kirbas is Paul Tillich Professor of Theology and Culture at the Graduate Theological Foundation. He is minister of the Presbyterian Church USA, and holds the Master of Divinity and Doctor of Ministry Degrees from Columbia Seminary, and a Ph.D. in Theological Studies from the Graduate Theological Foundation. His Ph.D. studies have focused on the intersection of theology and biotechnology, in collaboration with John Kerr, past Warden of the Society of Ordained Scientists in the United Kingdom.

Dr. Kirbas founded the Kirbas Institute in 2009, an institution dedicated to bringing faith and science together as partners in addressing important issues facing our world.  Following is a quote from the Kirbas Institute’s website describing their mission.

“Existing to build bridges of understanding.”

The Kirbas Institute is a 501c3 organization that exists to build bridges of understanding, cooperation, respect and acceptance among diverse faith communities and between faith communities and the global marketplace of ideas, especially those related to science and biotechnologies. Our goal is not simply to educate, but to use our educational tools and talents to facilitate a transformation of attitudes, opinions, and relationships for the betterment of society.

We at the Graduate Theological Foundation are particularly enthusiastic about the television program, The Exchange, produced by the Kirbas Institute.  The Exchange is a television program offered locally in Oklahoma City on KSBI at 7:30 AM Sunday mornings, and is nationally broadcast on Uplift TV Sundays, 10:00 PM Eastern, 9:00 PM Central, and 7:00 PM Pacific. You can order the episodes of each season by visiting the Kirbas Institute website.